About Us

The European Society of TMJ Surgeons (ESTMJS) is a non-profit organisation of specialists who focus on the diagnosis and management of temporomandibular joint disorders. Members have significantly contributed to the field by their unique, imaginative or pioneering clinical or research endeavours.

ESTMJS History

The European Society of Temporomandibular Joint Surgeons was founded in 2009 in Rome, Italy upon the initiative of Piero Cascone (Italy) and Gerhard Undt (Austria) in close relationship with the American Association of Temporomandibular Joint Surgeons (ASTMJS). Nineteen European specialists and Louis Mercuri as representative of ASTMJS were the founding members at the constitutional meeting an April 18th, 2009.

Executive Committee 2017-2019
President Andreas Neff
Past President Joel Ferri
Incoming President Fred Spijkervet
Secretary Nad Saeed
Treasurer Esben Aagaard
Board Members Dusan Hirjak
Salvatore Sembronio
Board Advisor Gerhard Undt
ESTMJS Previous Presidents
2009 / 2010  – Gerhard Undt
2010 / 2011  – Piero Cascone
2011 / 2012  – Lambert de Bont
2012 / 2013  – Andrew Sidebottom
2013 / 2014  – Florencio Monje
2014 / 2015  – Rudolf Reich
2015 / 2016  – Esben Aagaard
2016 / 2017  – Joel Ferri